Structure in Threes: puzzle pieces

The last couple of methods –for the design and reengineering businesses –fell into place last night as I was walking through an internal presentation deck for a conference my team and I are presenting at.  Expect to start harvesting blog and presentation materials for book this coming month.  Interesting coincidence that book writing effort kicks off this coming month along with other life events.

The two additional methods will focus upon measuring the impact of the changes to the business model.  In Stafford Beer VSM visualizations, a system two and three dashboards.

As I continue to explain the design practice, I’m seeing another set of practice methods surface.  I’m a strong advocate of whiteboard usage in meetings and think SurfaceHub will enhance user experience once it becomes adopted in meeting rooms as standard equipment –I can see it replacing whiteboards and can’t wait to have four in my home office.  Added to that approach for collaborative efforts is a variation of TED Talks.  I think the process of explaining an idea in constrained time and answering questions helps sharpen the idea, as the questions force one to think through aspects of the idea that were fuzzy or ignored before.  I’ll have to prototype/pilot this concept next team meeting.

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

Leave a Reply

