Architect’s Role

Had an interesting discussion yesterday with a peer.  He wondered why I’m still working and working where I am (Principal Business Architect)  when I could clearly take on a higher role.  The answer was quite easy…I enjoy the work and I enjoy helping other see the pros and cons of their decisions, so they can make better decisions.  In this age of multiple shades of grey; Decisions are about trade-offs based upon values.  My job is making the information and those trade-off explicit for the decision maker(s).   Some times that involves diagraming, some times making tools that manipulate and visualize information, some times just discussions acting as a sounding board or asking the difficult or avoided questions.  At the end of the day, when a decision maker or a group is happy with their decisions verses just satisfied that any decision was made (i.e., not really invested in the decision and its outcomes) or realizes they need to gather more information and explore more options as currently defined options are not satisfactory I feel I’ve done my job well.  –no applauses, not awards, sometimes not even a thank you.  But seeing my clients succeed is enough of an emotional high.

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

One Response to Architect’s Role

  1. I share the same motivations and principles as you. It is all too common that personal career success in an enterprise business is measured against a desire or willingness to be placed on a career path towards Senior Management or Directorships. I am no longer surprised by the reaction I often get when I state that my ambitions are not aligned that way. The simple desire to enable others to make good decisions and therefore have a successful business is often overlooked or not given the correct weighting when assessing performance in a role.

    I thoroughly enjoy the opportunities I have to translate the complex and fast moving world of technology in to business terms that can be used for competitive advantage. I hope to continue on an architectural track for as long as possible as I derive great satisfaction from it.

Leave a Reply

