Benefits Realization

Been a bit busy stoking the home fires of late.  Attended COFES, amazing conversations as usual.  This month I’ve been focused on several areas of applied business architecture research.  IT Portfolio Management, Benefits Management, and Complexity Management.  All three are related to my Structure in Threes project.

  • I continue to develop the portfolio model section by section along with a working prototype.  Started considering the technology and system to offer to the market.
  • Benefits Management this month is really a parallel track, both R&D for ensuring a portfolio action supports Enterprise Goals as well as applied practice for the projects I’m working on at Microsoft.  The past few weeks I’ve been creating a Benefits Dependency Network for one of the subprojects.  I’ll be reviewing and revising that today with stakeholders as well as creating a draft Benefits Management Plan to help ensure the initiatives realize the promised benefits.  Part of that will be a Results Chain Contribution Matrix, a Benefits Distribution Matrix, and a Stakeholder Management plan.  Most of these artifacts I’ll recommend to my group for future projects
  • Complexity Management R&D is part of the BPR/M activities at work as well as Portfolio Management R&D.  Had a great discussion with Dr. Jacek Marczyk discussion elements of complexity.  We’ll have lots more to discuss.  I like his high level model:  Structure Elements x Uncertainty = Complexity.    I had previously separated Uncertainty from the equations I was developing:  Business Process Complexity =  {Information Complexity} x {Activity Complexity} using BPMN models as the base to calculate each factor.  As of yesterday I revised calculations from a standard node count bases to also include network linkages between nodes in each factor.   Later this week I’ll look at how I include Dr. Marczyk’s perspective of accounting for uncertainty.  I think I may also expand on that and use some of Courtney, Day, Schoemaker, and Primozic research into risk and uncertainty.  They’ve a lot of good materials that could apply to the problem space.
About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

Leave a Reply

