Structure in Threes: Process Analytics Methods

Been too long since last post.  Been obsessed with latest BPR/M project at work –some things are too much fun to work on– to sit back and thing of lessons learned.  This week was no different: on boarding in new role; getting new laptop configured and connected to corporate systems; helping a contractor get on boarded to project.  Hopefully, I’ll have time to reflect on the past few weeks this weekend while I’m working in the woodshop.  The one insight that has come to mind are several methods of process analysis.  I expect to build an EXCEL spreadsheet to share with my team this weekend time permitting.  In the meantime The two analytic methods I’ve documented so far are:

  1. Complexity – a measure of how complex a process is based upon number of participants, number of decision points and activities
  2. Efficiency/Effectiveness – this is based upon the ratio of value added activities (VAA) to non value added activities (NVAA).   The classification of VAA and NVAA is from the primitive activity taxonomy I’ve mentioned prior.  [Make/Transform, Move, Store, and Validate]

I’m seeing a correlation between these means of analytics and the FAST methodology of Bytheway for product value analysis.  I plant to couple these with the advanced enterprise portfolio management methodology I’ve been working on the past several years.  I expect to do a bench check of the complete methodology on the current services project I’m working on.  The results of which will likely be an internal publication and potentially a redacted public paper.  As mentioned the new role and project I’m on is just awesome: the right mixture of hands-on to theoretical, block & tackle to new design.  Only drawback -not enough time in the day to get it all out of my head or time to gather it all into my head 🙂

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

Leave a Reply

