BPR/M: Tools and Techniques

Hate to start out discussing tools regarding BPR/M right off the bat.  However, it looks like I’ll need to find some of my old BPR/M applications for this latest project.  While the client‘s repository can scale to a large size, the configuration management and analysis tools leave a lot to be desired.  Something to be said about building your own tools for the job you’re doing.  The MS Access Process DB application I’d build years ago and continually modify looks like will have yet another year or two of life.  The last modification was to add ITIL packaging enabling me to box up processes for my FEDE client’s Shared Services organization.

This latest engagement looks to be a reduced set of the same issues, without the built in organizational resistance.  With this engagement the internal clients already are looking for a service.  What’s missing is a solid methodology to move from IT Product Delivery to a Service Delivery paradigm.  I’ll box up all the pieces into a Service Level Package (SLP) this week to demonstrate the concept.  This may help the IT organization’s client’s to visualize what is to be delivered and how the pieces fit to accomplish the results they would like.  I’ll see this afternoon whether I’ll get buy-in from the project team.  Either way I expect to build the SLP to make it easier to create a comprehensive solution.

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

