Windows 8.1

After a long day debugging access to Windows App store, spent the night downloading Windows 8.1 to my primary workstation.  A risk I know.  I typically download and test on another system first.  However, since I’ve been migrating work to Office365 Small Business I’ve less content to worry about losing, so I can focus on the applications that are on my desktop.  Sad to report Sony Movie Studio and Pinnacle Movie studio applications hang now and do not get past the startup splash.  I’ll remove and reinstall to see if 8.1 install corrupted any files, later today.

In the meantime, lost of IE add-ons no longer work, but the browser has sped up.  The UI is not much different and the “start button” in the lower left corner is interesting but I find I’m not using it much.  What will be more impressive is when/if Office applications become fully integrated into the new UI/UX.  In the meantime this weekend I’ll get back to book and office remodel

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

Leave a Reply

