Moving Day#2 and my test bed Data Center

Not finished with my office move.  I’ve a 32′ x 14′ home office now; still need to get it organized, but wired network and phone are operating now.  I’m glad I had added several wireless networks several years back. I would have been a disaster trying to work without Internet access the past several weeks.  Next two projects on the agenda:

1) Move wife’s makeshift office out of living room into my old office.  She doesn’t like the fact that it doesn’t have windows, but may be that’ll get her in and out of office quicker.

2) Move data center from old storage room to utility room with all the electrical and structure wiring system is.  Makes sense to me since Internet & data have become a utility service in my world.

Had discussion with colleagues about using cloud for data center yesterday –part of tomorrow’s activities will be getting Office 365 Small Business running for my book project– however, some of the projects I do, like run a test bed for engineering/manufacturing processes just would not work at this time using cloud [Bandwidth Issue].

  • Something large corporations and technology lobbyists seem to forget.  The majority of small and medium businesses don’t have enough bandwidth to make running entire infrastructure out of the cloud feasible.  At present the Internet Super Highway is a toll road and the actual transportation infrastructure are city streets.  I’m approximately sixty miles Southeast of Redmond and you’d think I’m in another country –well actually I am in the “country”– No Cable Available and Fiber optic lines are a fantasy around here.  The best I can get is merging several top of the line DSLs together which is not cheap either.

I use the test bed to simulate engineering and manufacturing corporations for quantitative testing.  I’ll configure my test network [separate from home office and family networks], servers and workstations to operate specific vendor software under evaluation.  Then run test scripts –a little different than bug checking quality assurance– that perform real world tasks; like design a design a standard part or create a technical illustration, make process plans and transfer them to another workstation to be acted upon.  The entire test bed is instrumented so I get a huge volume of data that is later analyzed.  A typical test sequence is to run a benchmark first, then the new software, then repeat several times to eliminate learning curve attributes**.  In some cases I’ve gone back to the software development company to ask if they see a better way to perform the task. Some times they see a better way to perform the task using their software, sometimes they see my approach is faster and ask to incorporate it into they’re testing, which is fine by me the objective we both have is to improve the experience for their customers.  Once I have these test runs accomplished I go back and analyze the data several different ways and produce a qualitative report based upon the quantitative data for my clients.

The move of my test bed will likely be in a couple of weeks as I have to get some new circuits and power outlets installed to handle the racks.  Got my eye on an APC power conditioning and backup system but that’s a little out of my range at present.

 

**This was how I tested Windows8, although I still consider myself on the learning curve with the product despite being function.

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

One Response to Moving Day#2 and my test bed Data Center

  1. Dean Keith says:

    Thank you for affirming the difficulties of bandwidth for a large number of businesses. In engineering, construction, and other industries, customers are often on the frontiers of connectivity. My own need for mobility puts me onto satellite internet connections quite often and the ping distance shows another limit in network application design.

Leave a Reply

