A Journey to a Decision at Last

After spending the last two years seriously considering writing a book, I’ve finally come to a decision to do it.   I took the position at Microsoft Enterprise Strategy IP development as a personal stretch assignment.  In the past I’d written for strategy and technical magazines, ghost contributed to books (thanks Bill for the Opp), and was lead content architect and provider for a vendor series.  However, I never really felt I was a great yet alone good writer.  Sure people like the materials and found them insightful and useful, but I consistently felt I was only getting half the story out or having readers take a convoluted journey to get to the destination.  Like this post, it reflected my thinking process in organization; entertaining to some.  I guess it is a hold over from my days brainstorming for Corporate Executives when I ran my own consulting firm. Then it was more important to examine both content and process in order to ensure the optimum decision.  Now, after two years of having friends and colleagues mark up White Papers, so all you see is red (Thank you Richard!), telling me I can get to the point faster or put more of my voice in the paper I feel like I’m writing more from heart AND head than ever before.

The only problem left was topic I should write on for my first book.  I’d been writing on IT Service Management, IT Economics and Finance, IT Portfolio Management, and Digital Nervous Systems for years. Recently spending a lot of time on developing a new approach toward IT Portfolio Management. So, it would make sense to write on one of these topics.  However, these didn’t completely cover the topic that’s been burning in my head since my papers at IBM years ago: CIM Architect’s Notebook,  Enterprise Linguistics a factor in CIM and later The Body Enterprise.  These were all various perspectives around a single focus: How does one rationally design an Enterprise.  After taking various assignments throughout corporations –Field Support, Manufacturing, Engineering, Strategy and Marketing, and Information Technology— throughout my career [my own form of FastPath –sorry IBM, yours just didn’t have the depth I was looking for], I feel ready to tackle writing a book on architecting an enterprise.

However, such a topic could span a series of books and take years.  So I came to the insight that I could scale it down without losing the core concepts.  So the past three days, as I typically do, I brainstorm with several people I respect and trust about the idea, soliciting feedback and support.  I was happy to see such support during our conversations.  As I start designing the book’s structure I’ll post aspects.  I expect I’ll self-publish as to the big publishing houses I’m an unknown quantity, though my content is in several titles –purposely without credit.  I’d not thought or desired of ever becoming a BIG BRAND NAME; too much baggage with that.

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

One Response to A Journey to a Decision at Last

  1. J.R. Clark says:

    Looking forward to seeing the end results Brian.

Leave a Reply

