Start of new book venture

Spent the past several years arguing with myself about writing a book.  I mean who really cares about what I would write, yet alone yet another book on IT Finance and Economics?  However, after the past year working at Microsoft and with the group of people I mentor, it appears there is a great gap in the area.

Yes, there are IT Economics books out there, I have a huge collection of them in my office. The problem seems to be how the topic is treated –maybe why I tried to stay miles away from it also for years.  What flipped the switch were several incidents: one with one of the enterprise architects I’m mentoring; several questions and assignments at work; and a discussion years ago about systems engineering with my mentors at Lockheed Skunkworks.

All of these incidents fell in line with the discipline life-cycle work I’d been developing the past years as part of my Intellectual Arbitrage Group venture I’d been sharing with various research centers.

After numerous discussions with wife about owning the community what I’ve spent a lifetime collecting, analyzing and synthesizing it about time I give back… I agreed with the logic, I just could not find the central theme to organizing the materials.  Last night I think I got it Enterprise IT Finance and Economics.  We’ll see as I continue to mindmap the materials this coming weekend

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

6 Responses to Start of new book venture

  1. Dean Keith says:

    Over the last few decades, we have seen Physics restate problems using Information Theory to help with fundamental problems of cosmology and quantum theory. Recently, similar two-way flows between Physics and Economics open up more possiblities in both disciplines. Might your topic use a three-way comparison between Physics, Information Theory, and Economics as a unifying concept?

    • briankseitz says:

      Interesting suggestion. I was starting out with the design professions (Arch, Mech, Elec, etc.) as that seemed to be the paradigm most of the IT organizations adopt.

      • Dean Keith says:

        That structure would be useful for finding examples for problem-solving in those areas. Once the problems are outlined, can basic principles of the three-way physics be used to evaluate those problems, suggest and evaluate solutions, and show the down sides to those changes? When the Architecture Department works with the CAD Department and gets customer approval, this design is handed to Mechanical for elevators, HVAC, etc. Their designs will require changes that can affect the physical look and cost. Once that is approved by the customer, Electrical gets to add to the design to power and light it. This will affect HVAC and force changes that will ripple back and forth to the customer, all through the CAD drawings, databases, and analyses. When a drawing is changed, this changes the Bill of Materials database, which probably changes other drawings. Can the topology of drawing and databases be changed so that this is easier to do?
        My extrapolation is indicative of my interest.

  2. Al Maurer says:

    ” it appears there is a great gap in the area”

    Can you describe this gap is a sentence or two? If you can, then you have the germ of an idea worth pursuing.

    • briankseitz says:

      I can however, its most likely going to turn into some of the IP I produce for Microsoft this coming year. My “New Operating Model for IT” paper will be turned over to editorial 10/8 for final edits then released to the Enterprise Strategy Program library for ESP customer access. It touches some of what I’ll be writing in the book as well as the Economics of Private Cloud –Finance and Economics Fundamentals paper in final review

  3. Robin says:

    I would like to know the new books target audience is and what is the primary question you will be addressing and providing a solution for. “Enterprise IT Finance and Economics” is a pretty broad agenda.

Leave a Reply

