Taxonomy Research: Project Strategy Determination for Taxonomy creation

During my flight to SharePoint 2011 continued research on developing Taxonomy creation methodology.  Lambe’s book provided excellent insights.  What I glean from his work was prior to undertaking a taxonomy project its necessary to assess the state of readiness an organization.  The question becomes what you do to assess taxonomy readiness.

Here again Lambe provided excellent insights.  The two major factors to use in an assessment are Information Maturity and Technology/Environment Maturity.  Information Maturity can be partitioned using Cynefin Framework into four state matrixes: Known, Knowable, Complex, and Chaotic.  This matrix infers that level of taxonomy usage that is applicable:  Structure & Organizing, Establish Common Ground, Span Boundaries, Sense Making and Discovery

The assessment of technology maturity spans a range from Ad Hoc Storage, Bucketing, Libraries, and finally Content Management Systems.  These ranges of technology maturity limit to what level of usage are possible in the current enterprise.

By the end of the week I hope to have both an assessment worksheet and guidance selector for how to scope a taxonomy creation project.   

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

5 Responses to Taxonomy Research: Project Strategy Determination for Taxonomy creation

  1. ici says:

    Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time 🙂

  2. tapping says:

    An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reward that: Thx for the treat! But yeah Thx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about taxonomy and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you develop more expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!

  3. Earlie Belli says:

    I need to say, youve got 1 with the ideal blogs Ive observed in a lengthy time. What I wouldnt give to be capable of develop a weblog thats as fascinating as this. I guess Ill just have to maintain reading yours and hope that one day I can write on a topic with as substantially information as youve got on this one!

  4. Marti Kahae says:

    Im impressed, I must say. Really hardly ever do I come across a blog thats both informative and entertaining, and let me tell you, youve hit the nail on the head. Your blog is essential; the problem is something that not enough folks are talking intelligently about. Im definitely pleased that I stumbled across this in my search for some thing relating to this issue.

  5. liberty reserve says:

    I like Your Article about Taxonomy Research: Project Strategy Determination for Taxonomy creation Brian's Blog Perfect just what I was searching for! .

Leave a Reply

