Structure in Threes: Design Strategy

Spent last night using the methodology I’m developing for the book to analyze the Data Insights and Business Intelligence line of business.  While I like Business Model Canvas  (Osterwalder, et al) for its visualization I find it lacking on the analytic side.  There are no metrics in the approach so the business model analysis subjective.  As such I’ve started to integrate Miles and Snow’s work and Peter Marks (Design Insight) -who’s methods I’ve used before for my major reengineering projects- and adapted these to provide a more metrics based approach.  Peter’s work was originally based on Product Design strategy which from my perspective from years ago and the basis of my R&D over the years is that an Enterprise is a product.  It happens to be a product with emergent behaviors; so the General Systems Theory and Industrial Dynamics research I did before and during my career at IBM has led me towards pushing the envelop in looking at Enterprise as a multidimensional exercise. Which became the topic of hours of discussion with my mentor John Zachman when we discussed expanding the framework.  We were looking for exemplars for Time and Motivation to ensure these were valid for inclusion.  The problem arose regarding behaviors which are motivation/intension but not.

I immediately though of my old drafting days and considered those perspectives auxiliary views. [For those who are not design engineering or architecturally knowledgeable, an auxiliary view is where to combine dimensions from two other views to create as third view that gives you another perspective]  Unfortunately, in the Enterprise Architecture space, we’ve not been keen on creating a dimensional coordinate system which is where my research activities have been leading.  While the metrics I’m proposing in my book are not as robust as those in the physical world (length, width, depth, and time) I think they’ll be consistent enough to be useful in analyzing an enterprise.

Business-Model-Canvas-PPT

The one easy dimension which seems to always get placed in the corner is resource, specifically finance.  I think this is because its both resource and measurement system which is confusing without context.  However, I’ve taken a page from Markowitz on Portfolio Management and think I’ve got a holistic approach that integrates with the rest of the methodology well.  Well back to office remodeling this morning.

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

2 Responses to Structure in Threes: Design Strategy

  1. eam software comparison says:

    Greate post. Keep posting such kind of info on your site. Im really impressed
    by your site.
    Hello there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and for my part recommend to my friends. I’m confident
    they will be benefited from this website.

  2. I am an avid fan as an Information Architect who has to be concerned with a certain amount of Enterprise Architecture, domain modeling, content modeling, and translating real-world business processes into digital experiences that should address business, user, and technical requiremnts.

    For Information Architecture has logically evolved into User Experience Design (as a component of software design) because that is one of the most important, yet most lacking elements of the equation.

    Moving forward so many of the lessons learned you speak of here are applicable and relavent to out Enterprise IA, Taxonomy, SEO, and UX work today as companies are starting to realize that Customer Experience or ‘User Experience with Their Brand’ is dependent upon things like findability of information, effectiveness of technical support, and structuring of information (proper design of information structures).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

