New Chapter in Life

Office not completely set up since remodeling to enable a private office for Dana, but have the basics up and running:

  1. Win8/Office 2013 Computer with dual displays (love my Knoll Furniture display rack) without printer
  2. telephone with a long extension cord
  3. furniture laid out with a conference table in center
  4. books cases around the periphery of the room for my research library (some books in cases some on floor)

With all that in place, I started planning out book this early morning.  Came up with what I think is a good working title: Structure in Threes What do you think?   I’m considering making it a two part book.  Part One will be more academic explaining my enterprise design philosophy and related concepts.  Part Two I’m planning on using the design pattern that Martin Sykes, et al used in their awesome book: Stories that Move Mountains**.  It is worth the read.  Its a practical approach to creating presentations covering materials that Reynolds (Presentation Zen) and Duarte’ (Slideology) present from an academic perspective -which are also worth the reads.  However, Sykes gets down to “How-to get it done” in his book were the others leave it to you to figure out how from their what.  I like the format of concept, template example and exercise for each step.  Having read through Martin’s book, I’m convinced this will be the most effective way to get professionals up to speed fast.

Don’t have a publisher yet, but I’m still in the early planning stages so I don’t want to bother any editors till I’ve worked out all the prerequisite materials they’ll need to make a judgment. Plus I’d like to get the content out of my head and down on paper so to speak for my own use.  After talking with Martin about the process he and his co-authors went through, it confirms what I already knew; this is going to take some time.  I’m grateful I had two years within the IP Development group within Microsoft Services and the support of peers like Richard Webb and external colleagues like Ken Hall at Gensler .  Its made me a better, more focused and intentional writer.  -almost 4am, guess I’ll get some sleep.

**Correction on title: Stories that move Mountains

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 456 other followers

