Lessons Learned from my peers on writing

Started a new line of research on Disaster Recovery / Business Continuity White Paper I’m writing.  Initially I was thinking in terms of DR/BC was a spectrum of tactics that was simply based on what a corporation was willing to spend.  Wednesday after some time had past since I had worked on the initial draft my thoughts had evolved from spectrum to one aspect of NextGEN IT research I’ve been working on to a framework on deciding DR/BC strategy.  Now I’m faced with some interesting choices.  Do I rewrite the paper, start another paper, or incorporate the new insights I’ve come up with as one more section of the existing paper?

As of yesterday I had started to just add the materials to a new section.  However, I’m thinking I’m going to have to break the paper up into two or more papers each with a specific perspective or my audience will be overwhelmed trying to digest too many concepts at once.  A few years ago I would have just smashed these ideas together as I can connect the dots in my head.  Having my peers to bounce ideas off of with regard to the value of a specific insight to our mutual audience as well as how to express these concepts has proven invaluable.  As I continue to work on White Papers on a board spectrum of topics I’m seeing the value in several smaller more focused papers covering only one topic.  The only issue with that approach is whether I have time to write the complete series of papers to cover the complete line of thought.  Too much in my head and not enough time to get it out.  Considering getting Dragon Software to see if dictation will improve my productivity.  Tried a mini-corder before that didn’t seem to get well, transcribing was more of a chore than a help.  What I need is a “The Matrix” plug-in jack into my brain so I can just think these ideas into a document or presentation.

About briankseitz
I live in PacNW in a small town and work for Microsoft as a Enterprise strategy and architecture SME. I enjoy solving big complex problems, cooking and eating, woodworking and reading. I typically read between 4-8 business and technology books a month.

2 Responses to Lessons Learned from my peers on writing

  1. Al Maurer says:

    One idea per white paper makes the white paper more of an essay on a specific topic, and that seems to me the way to go. Most “white papers” I’ve seen on the internet are little more than product advertisements.

    As you get time and interest, you can expand the white papers into the chapters of a book.

    BTW, I’m working with the military and they think of DR/BC more in terms of “continuity of operations”–of being able to work through a crisis rather than recover from it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 449 other followers

